Turbotodd

Ruminations on tech, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

Archive for December 14th, 2012

Newtown

leave a comment »

Sandy HookIt’s difficult to think about or concentrate on anything other than today’s horrific shooting tragedy at the Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut.

I just watched President Obama tearfully try to share his thoughts and sentiments for the victims and their families on behalf of the American people, and once again we shake our heads at such massive and senseless violence.

I used to live in Westchester County, and worked in Somers, a stone’s through from Newtown up I-84, and to imagine such horror in as lovely a rural Connecticut town as that…well, it reminds us how precious life really is.

For those of you out there with children, I’m sure you’ll be hugging them that much harder and closer this evening, thankful for their well-being and safety.

For those in Connecticut who were directly or even indirectly impacted by the shooting, I can only say to you the majority of the American people share the sentiment and compassion of our president.

In the time of a holiday season, we should have the opportunity to be joyous and celebratory as we prepare to travel and be with our respective families, and instead, this.

I can only say for myself, I’ll be much more appreciative of the time I get to spend with my own family for the holidays, and in the meantime, offer my condolences, thoughts and prayers for our friends in Connecticut.

Right now, I would imagine they need all the love and support they can get.

Written by turbotodd

December 14, 2012 at 9:10 pm