Turbotodd

Ruminations on tech, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

DIY

with 3 comments

I’m not much of a DIYer.

I’d rather go out and buy a new something than try and fix an old something.

And I think it’s genetic.  The primary tools my father had in his garage while I was growing up were a driver and a three wood (golf clubs!).

But sometimes, one has no choice but to channel their inward Ben Franklin-ness because circumstance requires it.

One example: My beloved 55” Sony Bravia TV (which I bought way before the volume discounts kicked in, thank you very much) had a thermal fuse go out.  I knew inviting my friends from Sony to come fix it in my home was at least a $400 mission.

I did some research to find the heart of the problem, and found a Web post that generally explained how to replace the thermal fuse.  It wasn’t open heart surgery — but it wasn’t removing a cuticle, either.

One day, while the light was still good, and by following the instructions I found online (including very helpful pictures!), I had the TV in pieces in no time, the fuse replaced, and the cover back on, TV working, in about 90 minutes.

You’d have thought I had won the lottery, judging by the smile on my face.

Recently, I had a similar, if less dramatic, episode.  I hadn’t used my Acer Aspire Netbook in a while, but I’d recently moved my home office back upstairs so I thought the Acer would be a good “downstairs” computer (I know, I clearly have too many computers).

When I turned it on, I realized there was a problem.  Even though the battery indicator suggested the machine was charged, when I removed the AC power source, the computer died.

Fail!

I immediately went online to look for a new, but cheap, replacement battery.  But as I entered the query “acer aspire one battery” and started glancing through the results, I saw links not only for replacement batteries, but for “fixes” for people having issues with the battery on that particular system.

Turns out, it was a long known and acknowledged problem, and it had a possible fix: Download the BIOS update onto a USB stick and reboot the machine with a special command.

Sounded easy enough.  And surprisingly, it was.  What took me about 5 minutes to research and implement saved me on the order of $30, along with shipping and handling, and also spared the planet the premature demise of a perfectly good laptop battery.

I checked the next morning, and the Acer battery (their 6 cell batteries are good for 6 hours or so!) was fully charged and raring to go.

More importantly, I got the satisfaction of solving a not-too-terribly-complex problem by doing a little investigating, and then following through.

Now if I could just find a similar article that would help me consolidate all my different iTunes libraries.

Written by turbotodd

February 7, 2012 at 10:07 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m with you! When our garbage disposal broke I almost called a plumber – but did a quick web search and found a YouTube Video explaining in detail how to fix it. Turns out it’s not rocket Science…

    As for your iTunes Problem: You can turn on Home Sharing on all your Libraries and then just take the one that’s the master library and copy everything into that one from that particular iTunes Library. Ping me if you need more details!

    Wolfgang Kulhanek

    February 7, 2012 at 10:27 pm

  2. Thanks, Wolfgang. How do I know if I have established a “master library,” and if not, what do I need to do so?

    turbotodd

    February 7, 2012 at 10:28 pm

  3. Wolfgang Kulhanek

    February 8, 2012 at 7:20 pm


Leave a comment