Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

Archive for the ‘facebook messenger day’ Category

A Messenger Day

leave a comment »

Let the SnapChat clones begin.

Today Facebook announced it was globally launching Messenger Day.

This new app will roll out on top of Facebook’s chat app on both iOS and Android, plus in Facebook desktop Messenger. The new feature will let you share with the public or a custom friend decorated photos and videos that disappear after 24 hours.

That is, of course, unless the CIA has already broken into your iOS or Android phone, in which case all bets are off.

All joking aside, I don’t think we can laugh this thing away out of the gate.

As TechCrunch observed, 1 billion people a day use Facebook Messenger, and Facebook is not afraid to copy great ideas. Why should somebody step out of Facebook and go over to Snapchat if they can just do what they need to on Facebook?

To whit, Snap Inc. chat is settling into the $22 range this afternoon, now that the news has sunk in. It appears that its messages aren’t the only thing disappearing at SnapChat.

Here’s what Facebook’s blog post introducing the feature explained the new Facebook Messenger Day capability:

Here’s how Messenger Day works: First make sure you’ve updated your Messenger app so you have the latest version. Open Messenger, and tap on the camera highlighted with a sun to celebrate this launch. Doing so drops you right into the full-screen camera. Or, tap the “Add to your day” button at the top of your inbox to get started. Snap a quick selfie or take a photo or video of what’s around you. To add art and effects, tap the smiley face icon in the top right and then tap to add to your photo or video. You can also add text over your images by tapping the “Aa” icon, and you can overlay a drawing by tapping the squiggly line in the top right corner. Once you have your photo or video the way you want it, tap the arrow in the bottom right corner. You can then add directly to your day, save it to your phone’s camera roll, and/or you can choose to send it to a specific person or group of people. The photo or video that you add to your day will be viewable for 24 hours.
– via newsroom.fb.com

Written by turbotodd

March 9, 2017 at 1:30 pm

%d bloggers like this: