Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

What’s Your Mobile Use Case?

with one comment

We’re only a week away from the start of the IBM Smarter Commerce Global Summit in Madrid.

So I found it interesting that Nielsen would release these “hard numbers”

A recent Nielsen survey of U.S. smartphone owners who report using their mobile phones while shopping in a store, indicates that consumers use their phones differently depending on the type of store.

about how consumers like to use their smartphones, particularly when it comes to shopping.

Here’s what I see in the data: Couponing is mainly for groceries and clothes, and its geeks who use QR codes (*I* am something of a geek, and even *I* haven’t used QR codes…at least, not yet).

If you’re looking for electronics, you’re likely to read reviews via your smartphone, because you don’t want to be the only idiot who bought the thing who didn’t check out what Joe the Plumber (err, the Coder) had to say about the item before they bought it.

I have a plane to catch, but I’ll be pondering this Nielsen data as I check in to find the status of my flight…on my LG dumb phone.

Written by turbotodd

May 14, 2012 at 4:06 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reblogged this on Mirv in the 'Burgh and commented:
    Now that I am working with Worklight, or IBM Mobile Foundation as it will become known, I’m very interested in all things mobile.

    mirvpgh

    May 14, 2012 at 4:23 pm


Leave a Reply

