Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

The Right And Left Hand

leave a comment »

I’m back in the great state of Texas…at least for a few days…and the weather in Austin is simply spectacular.  In fact, I’m writing this blog post from the golf course it’s so nice out….

Not really, but the idea IS compelling.

Another idea that’s very compelling is something that’s been bugging me and making me bat—— crazy!

While I was traveling last week, I got a call DAILY on my voicemail from my air conditioning service vendor, reminding me to schedule my annual maintenance appointment.

Then, when I got home over the weekend and, earlier today, made the requested appointment via their Web site, guess what happens?

You got it.  Not an hour later, I get another unsolicited call from Service Experts (the vendor) asking me to schedule the appointment.

My blood started to boil.  THE LEFT HAND DOESN’T KNOW WHAT THE RIGHT HAND IS DOING, MUCH LESS KNOW THERE EVEN IS A RIGHT HAND!

After politely, but impatiently, explaining to the nice lady that I had already scheduled the appointment via the Web, she explained in return that she hadn’t “checked the Web site.”

Well, you might just want to change those two points of intersection, mightn’t you?

My point being, the customer should have to care less which method of communication they choose to interact with — it’s the organization’s responsibility to bring those points of intersection together, not the customers’!  I’m just supposed to buy your stuff, remember???

Okay.  Now, I’m going to jump off my soapbox and pull out the bullhorn instead: This is precisely the kind of case study scenario you’re going to be hearing about from IBM customers should you decide to attend the IBM Smarter Commerce Global Summit coming up in Madrid.

In fact, I was just given a sneak peak at some of the customers planning on sharing their experiences in sessions at the event, and they’re a virtual who’s who of pan-European business: ING, Telstra, wehkamp.nl, Danone, Barclay’s Bank…and a host of others.

As part of the summit, we’ll also see the advent of the Marketing Innovation Summit, the most significant European gathering of marketing professionals in one place for four days of learning, networking, and exploring these types of best practices.

Check out the full agenda in this PDF to see a detailed session breakdown, then visit here to learn more and register for the event.

May 22-24, 2012, the Hotel Auditorium Madrid, in Madrid, Spain.  Looking forward to seeing you there!

Leave a Reply

