Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

Donald Takes Golf’s Transitions

with one comment

Almost from day one of 2012, I predicted it was going to be a stellar year for golf.

Don’t ask me how I know these things. They just come to me.

As I watched the lead ebb and flow for the Transitions tournament over the weekend — first with Padraig Harrington, then later, Ernie Els (who needed the win to NOT miss the Masters for the first time since 1994), then finally, in a four-way playoff, world number two Luke Donald…well, the Transitions was just another in a series of nail-biting golf tournaments.

For you non-golf fans reading this, who think golf on TV is about as exciting as watching paint dry, go back to watching “Doomsday Preppers.”

But for the golf fans…well, I could almost do the wave standing right downstairs in my living room.

Yes, I felt horrible for Ernie when he missed that short putt on 18 to keep him in the playoff, but heavens to Betsy, next thing you know we’ve got four stellar golfers in a playoff on 18: Luke Donald, Robert Garrigus, Jim Furyk, and South Korean upstart Sang Moon-Bae, who’s got one of the most beautiful swings I’ve seen in years.

Donald proved he’s the man to beat, and steals his first place world ranking back from Rory McIlroy nary two weeks after Rory took it from him.

Can you say “The Masters Is In Two Weeks?”

Unfortunately, I’m going to be away from civilization that weekend. I’ve got some guns to go shoot with the boys out in West Texas. But if anyone can think of a way for Turbo to keep up with the Masters in a far, remote, desolate West Texas location, I’m all ears. Smoke signals, anyone?

I’ll have it all recording on the DVR, you can be sure of that.

And in the meantime, we have Arnie’s Bay Hill Classic “Arnold Palmer Invitational” this week, where the top four golfers of the world do NOT include Tiger, Vijay, Phil or Ernie. None of them are even in the top 10!

Boy, how the sport of golf changes, and fast.

My hope is to see these four in a playoff down in Florida this weekend!

Written by turbotodd

March 19, 2012 at 10:30 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m counting down the days until Masters week. Can’t wait! Should be a fantastic tournament!!!


Leave a Reply

