Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

Live @ Lotusphere 2012: Turbo’s Late Arrival

leave a comment »

First off, I don’t know what I was thinking traveling during the AFC/NFC playoffs.  Did that happen last year?

Redmonk's James Governor, Silicon Angle's Alex Williams, and IBM's Rawn Shah talk social shop at Sunday night's opening kickoff party at the Dolphin & Swan Beach in Orlando, Florida

All I can say is, Thank God for Jet Blue and DirecTV.  It was a nice flight from Austin to Orlando, where I would be attending Lotusphere and IBM Connect 2012, and I was able to see the NY Giants’ fleecing of Aaron Rodgers and the Green Bay Packers at Lambeau Field, no less, some 35,000 feet up in the air (save for those nasty mid-air turns where the satellite went south…or was it north?)

In any case, there’s been a lot of fun NFL football this weekend…there was yesterday’s 49ers rout that sent the Saints marchin’ home, and the ever-laser-like Patriot Tom Brady who made Tim Tebow look like a rank amateur in the Pats’ victory over the Broncos.

Now if I could just find out who won the Sony out in Honolulu. (Oh, it was Johnson Wagner…who’s he??)

But enough sports talk, it’s time to get down to business.  At the opening Lotusphere kick-off party on Disney’s Swan and Dolphin beach, I got to catch up with some old blogger friends, not to mention made some new ones.  And clearly, I need to update my RSS feeds: ReadWriteWeb’s Alex Williams has joined the cadre led by my old friend John Furrier at SiliconAngle, and James Governor with Redmonk explained how he’s in the throes of planning his first “Monkigras,” not to mention preparing for the global invasion of East London for this Summer’s Olympic games.

At the party this evening, I did some catching up with all the above,  as well as some old IBM friends including Luis “What’s Your Email Address?” Suarez, and Rawn “What Social Book Are You Writing Now?” Shah.  There were lots of Androids and iPhones in attendance at the party as well, though I saw only one Ice Cream Sandwich.  Being a recent Android convert, I can honestly say I’m quickly grokking the Android code names.

As for tomorrow, I’m very excited to learn that former Apple executive and speaker extraordinaire Guy Kawasaki will be kicking off the IBM Connect event.

But for now, it’s time to get some needed slumber so I can be prepared for all things social and all things business in the am…with a particular emphasis on the former.

Written by turbotodd

January 16, 2012 at 4:27 am

Leave a Reply

