Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

Market Meltdown

leave a comment »

Okay, okay, methinks I cursed the market.

I joked in yesterday’s post about hoping to avoid an economic meltdown, seeing as our U.S. Congress came through at the last minute with a debt ceiling bill.

Little did I know that only THEN would the market panic.

As an investor, and future retiree candidate, I’m not going to totally freak.  Like a good little investor, I’m in this for the long haul, what goes up must come down (and hopefully go back up again), and panicking didn’t do Chicken Little any good.

But Double-U Tee Eff!?!?!

I turn away from CNBC for a few hours to get some work done and the market sinks 500 points?! 

Not without some irony, I’ve been speaking with my financial adviser the last week, preparing for a possible meltdown.  We had the strategy all planned.  But that was assuming the meltdown would happen on Monday or Tuesday, or maybe over last weekend. 

NOT TWO DAYS LATER!

Okay, I feel better now.  I’m also going to turn lemons into lemonade. 

Buy low, sell high, right?  But maybe someone could warn me about the big hill in advance next time!

Well, back to techland.  Scott Laningham, my trusted developerWorks amigo and podcasting guru, finally got back into the studio, so to speak, to record a recent episode.  We talked about Operation RAT, the Google/IBM patent deal, and the 30th birthday of the IBM Personal Computer.

Check it out here. 

Me, I’m off to lick my investing wounds.

Oh, and if you don’t hear from me next week, that’s ‘cause I’m going to do a little vacating.  But I’m sure it won’t last nearly long enough, and you’ll hear from me again very soon.

Written by turbotodd

August 4, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Leave a Reply

