Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

SXSW Day 1: Setting the Scene

leave a comment »

I knew I was in trouble at SXSW this year when I showed up this morning, earlier than I’ve ever shown up on the first Friday, and I couldn’t find a parking spot ANYWHERE near the Austin Convention Center.

Then I knew I was in more trouble when entire parking areas, which used to house the parking that I had available to me for SXSW, were being taken over by the likes of X-Box 360, PepsiCo, and CNN.

So, I put on my backpack and made my way over to the convention center on foot. I saw a lot of people doing the same thing.

I think SXSW Interactive has officially jumped the shark. But as my amigo Spinuzzi said, it still affords great networking opportunities.

Sure, if you can FIND anyone. Being that I’m one of the “old” people and don’t much use geo-location services (if I want someone to know where I’m at, I’ll send them a Tweet or post it here on the Turbo blog), I guess I’m at even more of a disadvantage.

Yesterday, I got the lowdown on Blippy, a site on which individuals post all their credit card transactions. Now THAT’s transparency.

That’s one of the key themes I’m going to be most interested in at this year’s event. Transparency, privacy, security, particularly as they relate to increased use of mobile devices and social capabilities and the nexus between the two.

I’m also going to be interested in data, aggregation, and who gets to use what information. I think we’re into some seriously uncharted waters on that front.

It remains to be seen how much mobile access we’ll have on site. I’m typing this post on an Apple wireless keyboard using my iPad (the original). But, I’m in a bar (yes, at 12:15 in the afternoon…but I’m drinking a Diet Coke…I SWEAR), and they have good wi-fi access. We’ll see how AT&T fares with their 3G and how SXSW fares with the ACC wifi. Heaven help them if they don’t fare well.

In the meantime, I’m having lunch. I’m sitting at BD Riley’s on 6th Street (my local watering hole). It’s 12:15 PM. I don’t know the lat/long, but I’m sure you can look it up on Google maps.

But if you want to see me, you’d better hurry. This is SXSW — it’s dangerous to stay in one place for too long.

Written by turbotodd

March 11, 2011 at 12:00 pm

Posted in conference, sxsw

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

