Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

Off To The Rich Coast

leave a comment »

I’m off to spend a week with mi padre playing golf and running some rapids in Costa Rica.

We arrived at Juan Santamaria aeropuerto last evening and are staying in the “Gringo Gulch” area near downtown San Jose.

I’ve never visited Costa Rica before, so I’m learning as I go.  Some factoids from Wikipedia:

  • Costa Rica is bordered by Nicaragua to the north (where I haven’t been) and Panama to the east and south (where I have), and the Pacific Ocean to the west and south and the Caribbean Sea to the east.
  • Costa Rica has been ranked as one of the happiest places on earth, and consistenly been among the top Latin American countries in the Human Development Index
  • Costa Rica is expecting to become the first carbon neutral country by 2021 and is already the “greenest” country in the world.

Economically, Costa Rica has historically centered on coffee, which was first planted here in the early 19th century and first shipped to Europe in 1843.

Bananas later came to rival coffee as the principal Costa Rican export, which were initially shipped primarily back to the U.S.

More recently, turisma (tourism) has become the headliner of the economy here, although high tech is no stranger to Costa Rica: IBM, HP, even Intel, which has a $500+M assembly and test plant here.

So, I’m off to do my part to contribute to the local economy.  If  you don’t hear much from me in the Turbo blog this week, it’s because I’m chasing little white balls through the rainforest.

But, I’ll be back…Well, maybe.

Written by turbotodd

February 21, 2011 at 4:13 pm

Posted in vacation

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

