Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

Leo And The ‘Droid

with one comment

I am arising briefly from my blogging coma.

First, for those of you on the East Coast, Happy Blizzard!

I used to live in and around the New York City area and, in fact, was there for the Great Blizzard of 1996, during which I saw more snow in a two-day period than I had previously in my Texas lifetime.

Speaking of Texas, it’s been wicked cold down here for us, but no white stuff this Christmas in Tejas (after we got a rare blizzard ourselves last holiday season).

So what’s been catching my eye during the Holiday lull?  First, this NY Times piece on Leo Laporte and his podcasting empire.

I’ve been a regular listener to his foundational podcast, “This Week in Tech,” nearly since its inception.  Laporte is a pod-/videocasting madman, and it’s great to see he’s turned his enthusiasm into such a unique brand and viable business concern.

Long live the podcasters!

This also just in, Fortune’s Seth Weintraub’s post suggesting that 2011 will be the Year that Android explodes.  He reasons that with improved 3/4G networks and commoditization of some of the key components, Android-based smartphones will go way down in price and way up in volume.

I’ve long believed Android would be the ultimate smartphone OS victor, primarily because it’s more open than Apple.  But that still didn’t prevent me from making a shorter-term decision to go with the iPhone.

And aside from the AT&T network woes (for me, the woes have been more voice-centric than data), I’ve been very happy with my decision.

In any case, Android software developers will likely be in even bigger demand in 2011.  Glad to see something growing in our industry again!

For now, I have to hit the highway and head back to Austin.  More from the holiday bunker soon!

Written by turbotodd

December 27, 2010 at 4:38 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Leo’s podcasts get me through my workouts at the gym, and long road trips. Great stuff!

    Sportch

    January 4, 2011 at 6:03 pm


Leave a Reply

