Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

Happy Tuesday

leave a comment »

Hey there, happy Tuesday.

I’ve back and mostly recuperated from Information on Demand 2010.

More on that in a moment.

First, congrats to the San Francisco Giants for their World Series win.  It was a bittersweet first trip to the Big Show for my Texas Rangers, but I loved every minute of it in spite of the outcome.

And I love the City of San Francisco and its surrounding environs, have many friends who live in the area, and hope they are wallowing in their well deserved victory.

Meanwhile. on the subject of speaking of recent victories, Canalys is reporting that Apple now leads the U.S. smart phone market with 26% share.

Boy, do I feel like I went to bat for the right team on this one.  I struggled with my iPhone/Droid decision (moving away from RIM), and I opted for the iPhone (even though I still maintain the Droid market will end up being much, much larger in terms of the mobile application market opportunity).

But, there’s something to be said for the proprietary, quality-control approach Apple’s taking, and apparently millions of Apple iPhone users agree. (By the way, I’ve had NO buyer’s remorse for the iPhone 4 whatsoever.  In fact, I wonder why it took me so long to switch to the iPhone!)

Now, back to IOD 2010.

First, if you missed all the action, that’s okay, we captured a number of key sessions that you can attend remotely in Information on Demand Virtual 2010. There will be two sessions: One on November 17, the other on December 15.  Check out the previous link for more details (but know you’ll be able to see keynotes from a variety of speakers, including Dr. Atul Gawande and the Freakonomics gang).

You can also check out a number of the video interviews Scott Laningham and I conducted with key IBM execs, Business Partners, customers and subject matter experts on our Livestream channel.

And of course, you can read through back some the prior Turbo posts for key session recaps.

Written by turbotodd

November 2, 2010 at 2:28 pm

Leave a Reply

