Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

The Internet of Things (Except the iPad)

with 3 comments

Did I mention that I’m follow the advice of the crowd (via my recent poll) and opting out of being a first-generation Apple iPad purchaser?

This is requiring a significant amount of willpower on my part.

As I watch one close friend on Twitter literally tracking his iPad’s journey from China via FedEx, and read about how iPads are all sold out before they even hit the stores, and as I conveyed to my own Web marketing team last Friday about the interesting new advertising deals being made with big magazine advertisers wanting to be first edition explorers in this new media vehicle…well, it’s just almost too much to bear.

But, I’ve been burned on first gen handhelds before. 

The original Palm Treo, for example. 

Sounded great when it first came out, cost about as much as an iPad (but this was in 2002), and it now looks fantastic in the personal tech museum in my closet.

It doesn’t help that there are now video flyovers of the new iPad apps store, complete with enticing and sexy shots of cool video games that can be played on the iPad.

But…I…must….resist…the….urge….to…be…an…early….adopter.

I already get plenty of grief for not being a card-carrying member of the iPhone community (I’m a BlackBerry, not an iPhone), although I do have an iPod Touch, which has become my best friend on long airplane journeys.

But, I own three Macs, three iPods of one sort or another, and I use Ubuntu Linux on a Dell Latitude, so I ain’t takin’ geek grief from anybody.

Anyway, all this is missing the bigger picture emerging out there, one that IBM has begun to convey in its smarter planet initiative. 

The planet is now talking to us. 

Sensors abound which collect and convey new and potentially useful information. 

There’s data everywhere, just waiting to be turned into insight and actionable intelligence.  Sensors abound which collect and convey new and potentially useful information.

But the opportunity must be seized.  Systems of systems must be instigated to turn all that data noise into insight.

This new video, produced by some of mis amigos in our new media communications team, does a brilliant job of beginning to relate this opportunity, and in the voice of some of our leading research and development minds at IBM.

Check it out….and in the meantime, be sure to send me a detailed debrief about your iPad experience!

Written by turbotodd

March 29, 2010 at 7:17 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I reserved and am doing the in-store pickup on Sat. I feel like such a geek moron because I had convinced myself they wouldn’t sell out and there wouldn’t be a mad line of people around the block… I have a bad feeling now that I’ll wind up on the evening news standing next to a guy dressed like Yoda, waiting to buy my new toy.

    george

    March 29, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    • Fear is the path to the dark side, George. Fear leads to Windows. Windows leads to suffering.

      scott

      March 31, 2010 at 5:46 am

  2. George, with you may the force be, and much enjoy your long wait in line may you very…And your new iPad. Hmmmmmm.

    turbotodd

    March 29, 2010 at 7:59 pm


Leave a Reply

