Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

Mobile Nowhere

leave a comment »

You don’t have to hit me over the head about the fact that mobile is a key meme at this year’s SXSW Interactive.  I get it.

However, don’t look for me on any of those mobile social networking services.  As I joked in a recent Tweet, I’ve not become mayor of anything on Foursquare or gotten any rewards on Gowolla because it’s nobody’s business but my own where I am at any given time.

And, I have no interest in having all that information shared with third parties who don’t necessarily have my best interest in mind.

You need look no further than the recent incidences with Google Buzz or Facebook to know that your information can be used against you even when brands with the seeming best of intentions screw people over without any consequence to them, and all in the name of “adding value” to their service.

Most of the value being added is to their bottom line.  Make no mistake about that.

I’m not suggesting these services can’t be fun.  I got a full-on demo of FourSquare the other night, and a guy from E-Bay explained how I could use it to find all the geeks in the bar at once.

Certainly an interesting opportunity, particularly with respect to SXSW Interactive.  We geeks are mostly harmless, but honest to God, if I want to find a few thousand of them, all I have to do is walk within four blocks in any direction of the Austin Convention Center.  You can’t throw an iPhone without hitting a geek…several at once, in fact.

But what if I were a battered woman whose ex-husband was trying to track me down by socially engineering their way into my profile?

What if I were a Chinese dissident on foreign soil trying to remain completely anonymous?

What if I just simply don’t want major Internet concerns profiting from my whereabouts?

If I want to become mayor I’ll run for office someday.  In the meantime, if you want to find me, send me a Tweet or an email.

My FourSquare account is no more.

Written by turbotodd

March 13, 2010 at 8:19 pm

Leave a Reply

