Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

Not Enough Ink

with one comment

I think my Oscar picks came in at around fifty percent (of those categories I picked).

Don’t worry, I won’t give up my day job.

As the Oscar ceremony wound into the start of its fourth hour, I laughed at the fact how every year they talk about making the ceremony shorter.  Yeah, right.

By the time they got to the supposed momentous event of the evening, Tom Hanks couldn’t have been more unclimactic and hurried in announcing that “The Hurt Locker” took the Best Picture award.

It went something like this: “The Hurt Locker!”…I’m outta here!

Talk about short shrift!

Kind of like CNET’s Dave Rosenberg’s recent observation about the state of the enterprise IT media.

According to Rosenberg’s analysis, major, enterprise-oriented IT firms making billions of dollars a year in revenue (Think Oracle, Cisco, IBM, etc.) are “largely ignored by business press” and that there are tech categories with enormous worldwide revenue (think storage, virtualization, etc.) that are “barely acknowledged.”

What can you say?

It’s not easy being green and efficient as big enterprise tech vendors like IBM assist companies around the globe to work smarter not harder, and helps transform their business IT operations into a value-added investment that brings their organizations new and actionable intelligence.

But then again, not everybody makes iPads or has a search engine (read Rosenberg’s analysis to learn more).

Speaking of iPads, as the availability date draws nearer and nearer, I’m having a moment of crisis and need to do a little crowdsourcing with my moral dilemma.

I owned one of the original e-book readers, and I really liked it. But my iPod Touch does just about everything I need it to do (including read books), and it’s so portable.

But, what if I could get rid of all those paper magazines that still show up in my mailbox every week, which I hate (and feel more and more guilty about) throwing out?

Take my poll and tell me what you think.

Written by turbotodd

March 8, 2010 at 2:56 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I say wait and see how good the IPAD is. I know it is being super hyped, but reality does not always match Marketing buzz. Then you can make an informed decision. I sound like an market intelligence geek..don’t I?!i

    Andrea Goldberg

    March 8, 2010 at 3:35 pm


Leave a Reply

