Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

Behind the Scenes: Making Social Media @ Pulse 2010

with 3 comments

I took a quick breather this afternoon to produce this very short video about some of the tools and tricks of the trade I use with respect to social media to cover IBM events like Pulse 2010.

On my travels and in my everyday workaday life, I get a lot of questions about what and how to go about doing social media.  The beauty of the technology these days is that it just about anybody with a computer and a small handheld video recorder can become a practitioner.

I would submit, however, that, like anything, it takes some practice to get good at it!

Watch the video below to learn more about some of the tools I use.

Written by turbotodd

February 23, 2010 at 9:03 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good video. Would love to know more about your interviewing technique and examples. How do you get the conversation going and do you have a particular approach. Thanks

    CliffKinard

    February 25, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    • Cliff, there’s no pat answer here. I would say the most important thing you can do is educate yourself about the topic, so that you internalize the subject and are prepared to discuss it generally, as well as ask specific questions that help you (and, therefore, the audience) learn more from the interview.

      Also, I think it doesn’t hurt to try and learn as much as you can about the interviewee in advance of the discussion as you can, although this may not always be entirely feasible.

      When I interviewed Chris Anderson, the editor of Wired magazine and author of The Long Tail, I did quite a bit of prep and had a number of questions ready that I wanted to ask. I also re-read his book!

      With Malcolm Gladwell, I had to “walk and talk” for that interview (meaning, we literally did an interview as he walked from backstage at his IOD keynote talk to his book signing after the event). That meant I had about 7 minutes while we were walking. In that case…thank God!…I had sent the questions to my Blackberry in advance, and I carry around a portable digital audio recorder.

      If I hadn’t had either of those two tools, that interview might not have happened, or certainly wouldn’t have turned out as thorough.

      So, sometimes, it’s just a matter of being prepared (Boy Scout’s Motto!), both technologically and in terms of what you wish to learn!

      turbotodd

      February 26, 2010 at 2:31 pm

  2. Good stuff Todd!

    Holl Haswell

    February 26, 2010 at 6:00 pm


Leave a Reply

