Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

Many Thanks

with 3 comments

This is going to be one of the first times ever that I didn’t travel somewhere for Thanksgiving.

That alone is like a holiday.

My parents are out traveling around western Louisiana in their current home, a motor coach.

I want to first give thanks for them.  They made me, they brought me up, they sent me packing, and they helped me become the Turbo I am.

Thanks, Mom and Dad.

I also want to give thanks for my sister.  A long time ago she decided to take the road not typically taken, but recently she seems to have found her way back.  I am most thankful for her.

I’m also extremely thankful for my extended family scattered across the mid-south and here in Texas, south, middle, and north.

I also want to give a special thanks for all the American soldiers and military families situated around the globe.

Thank you for your service, your bravery, your sacrifices, for your good humor and attitude in tough situations.

Many of the American people think about you on an ongoing basis, particularly in Iraq and Afghanistan, but also on bases around the globe.  Coming from a family filled with military veterans, I think about you all often, and really appreciate what you do for our country and its people.

I am also thankful for my colleagues at IBM.

First, because they put up with me, but more importantly, because they are world class people to work with.

And when I mean world class, I mean world class around the world.  It has been a wonderful year of meeting so many more of you during my travels, and for that I’m also most thankful.

I’m also very thankful for having been put into the orbit of the Internet way back when, which has not only become my bread and butter but which has allowed me to watch my world get smaller and smaller and yet more and more fascinating over these past 15 years.

Even as the planet seemed so big, the Net has made it smaller and smaller every day and has also brought me into contact with people from around the globe and with experiences and backgrounds so different from my own, and yet I constantly seem to discover a common humanity wherever in the world I am, and for that I am also thankful.

I am extremely thankful for my friends, both inside and outside IBM, and both inside and outside my industry.  I have had the blessed fortune of meeting so many interesting and smart people in my world at Big Blue, and your constant challenging of me, the status quo, of the IBM enterprise…well, it’s a rare privilege.

There are so many more I could thank, but I think you get the idea.

Lastly, thank those of you who have read this blog regularly (or irregularly) over the past 4 1/2 years.

It’s always so great to hear from you all, and your reactions to what I have to say, and to your own thoughts…know that I’m especially thankful for that rare privilege.

No matter where you are in the world, I wish all of you out there a very happy Thanksgiving…it’s an idea of a holiday whose bounty the entire planet should be able to enjoy.

Written by turbotodd

November 25, 2009 at 11:03 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Todd first of all I am proud to have u for my son…..You are so talented with your writing ..For that I am proud also….Thank you for the kind words u said about us and your family….If u dont have family…u dont have anything…..so thank u….I love u……Mom

    Mom

    December 6, 2009 at 6:34 pm

  2. Hey Cuz,
    Proud to be part of your extended family. You are quite the wordsmith. Hope to see you during Christmas.
    Love,
    Kim

    kim

    December 7, 2009 at 3:43 am

    • Hey mom and Kim, thanks for the kind words and looking forward to seeing all of you during the Holidays. Are they here yet? Can they hurry up and get here??

      turbotodd

      December 9, 2009 at 1:55 pm


Leave a Reply

