Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

Car Windows

with 4 comments

Is anybody but me getting a sudden influx of Facebook SPAM?

I’m suddenly getting notices from my “friends” with links to some Blogspot address asking me to watch some video.

Oy vey.  I wonder if that could somehow be a viral video campaign related to today’s Windows 7 launch.

Speaking of which, I haven’t yet figured out how to get Windows 7 on my Acer netbook.  It’s currently got a dual boot with both Ubuntu Netbook Remix and Windows XP, but because most netbooks don’t have a DVD or CD-ROM drive, upgrading is going to be a big challenge.

I’ve visited both the Windows marketing pages as well as the Microsoft store, and there’s no information on the Netbook upgrade version (from which you can load via USB device, or so I had heard) of Windows 7.

So, all that hard work by Microsoft on getting W7 tuned up and ready for the netbook market…well done!

I did stumble onto this post from the Windows 7 blog, which announced a number of special offers and promotions, including a Windows 7 launch party in NYC.

You know, I really would try and make it, but alas, I have to head to a meeting to watch some paint dry.

David Pogue has a review on The New York Times with the following headline: Windows 7 Keeps the Good, Tries to Fix Flaws.

Not exactly a ringing endorsement, but then again Pogue is an unabashed Apple fanboy (Full disclosure: So am I.)

But, being a technology dude, I find it is my geeksworn duty to try as many technologies as I possibly can, from IBM and from our competitors, so that I can better understand the state of the market.

That said, I never tried Microsoft Vista, save for one time when I was at a Gartner Symposium in the fall of 2003, and I got to try out an early beta.

I thought it really cool that Vista was going to include RSS feeds (RSS feeds were pretty new back then…amazing how so many people still don’t know what they are!)  Other than that, I just couldn’t see it, especially with all the additional horsepower it required.

No, for me, Windows XP was always good enough, and like so many, I never found a compelling reason to upgrade to Vista.  And then, I discovered Mac OS X.

For my money, operating systems should be like car engines…they should just work.  Turn the key.  Engine cranks.  Off you go.

And for me, Mac OS X has been a pretty good working engine, and considering that it’s basically a UNIX derivative with a nice GUI overlay, I guess I shouldn’t be surprised.

If Windows 7 can provide the kind of stability and an elegant GUI that OS X has been providing for years, then by golly, knock yourself out.

I’d certainly consider putting it on my Acer netbook…but I’m definitely not interested in spending days under the hood trying to figure out how to do so.

Kinda defeats the point if I can’t get in and just turn on the engine and drive.

Written by turbotodd

October 22, 2009 at 2:05 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well I’ve been running both early MS and the Dell IT provided Windows 7 code for almost a year. It’s really pretty good, but I’m hardly a Windows fanboy, on the other hand I’ve never used a MAC, period.

    The issue is as always mostly not the MS core, although it was with Vista, basically through bad choices in defaults. You could fix most of everbodys problems with Vista by turning off User Account control. However, since that also moved a lot of things around in the directory structure of the C: drive, that itself then caused problems if you didn’t do it out of the box. So basically you were dammed if you did Vista, and dammed if you tried to turn off User Account Control.

    Windows 7 has UAC, and they’ve fixed many of the problems that it caused as so its much more transparent. That means you can focus on the good things that they’ve done with Windows to improve it.

    A bunch of the Windows 3 programs I wrote back in the late 80’s still work on Windows 7, without recompilation. Some of the UI Palettes are off, but that is mostly because we were dealing with 8-bit registers back then that have grown to 32-bit and are not so compatible way.

    Of course, the real test will be based on vendor drivers, their stability, installability and reliability. Something that mostly the MAC doesn’t have an issue with. As the MAC platform grows it will be interesting to see if this starts to cause problems, probably not while Apple control the platform, but if they succumb to letting other companies build MACs, or the market for gee-whiz MAC accessories becomes something that Apple loses control of, I suspect the comparison between MAC and PC will become more realistic from a tech perspective.

    Mark Cathcart

    October 22, 2009 at 3:01 pm

  2. I’m actually not an “unabashed Mac fanboy.” What I am is an “unabashed elegance/excellence fanboy.” Often, that’s Apple stuff. Often, it’s not.

    I’m perfectly capable of criticizing Apple’s less successful efforts, and I do so routinely. Here are 40 recent examples:

    http://www.davidpogue.com/bio_photos/fanboy.html

    As for the headline of my Windows 7 review today: I didn’t write it. I don’t write the headlines.

    If you read the review itself, you’ll find that I did indeed give it a ringing endorsement!

    –Pogue

    David Pogue

    October 22, 2009 at 7:41 pm

  3. Pogue, I did read the review, and I found it mostly pretty useful.

    Now if I can ever figure out a way to get Windows 7 onto my XP-laden netbook, I might even try it out.

    Perhaps your new book will even explain to me how?

    Signed,

    Another XP Holdout

    PS So are you gonna divide your time evenly between Mac OS X and Win 7, or do you think it might be more 60/40, 70/30, 80/20 in favor of OS X? : )

    turbotodd

    October 22, 2009 at 7:51 pm

  4. the best and cheap netbooks are made by Asus or MSI, if you want reliability then the best is Hitachi netbooks `

    Sheer Curtains ·

    November 3, 2010 at 10:54 pm


Leave a Reply

