Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

Upset At The U.S. Open and U.S. Bank

leave a comment »

My heart is still pounding from last’s night men’s finals match between Roger Federer and Argentina’s Juan Martin del Potro.

I hadn’t seen the del Potro/Nadal match, and in fact, hadn’t seen del Potro play at all, so I didn’t realize the treat I was in for when I turned on the men’s finals about halfway through the match.

I’m not a tennis expert, but when Federer let that fourth set go to del Potro, I knew a whole different tournament was about to begin in the fifth and final set.

I had remarked to an IBM colleague that Federer would make short work of del Potro, but that was before I saw that fourth set and the determination del Potro had to stay in to the very end.

When del Potro went 3-0 in the fifth, I figured it was all over but the crying, but then Federer came screaming back…but, alas, it wasn’t to be enough, it was del Potro’s time.  What an upset.

Like I said in my first post about this year’s tournament, I love the U.S. Open, especially to see the level of tennis we saw this year.

But the U.S. Open isn’t the only IBM client using our IT tools for competitive advantage.

Back in Minneapolis, Minnesota, we just had another major win as U.S. Bank chose to standardize on IBM Lotus collaboration software, displacing Microsoft’s SharePoint tools.

According to an article in Computerworld, U.S. Bank plans to roll out Lotus Quickr and Lotus Connections social Web platform to help its 58,000 employees better communicate and collaborate with one another.

In the process, U.S. Bank will also be standardizing on the Lotus Notes 8.5 client, and Lotus Sametime messaging.

You can read more here.  In the meantime, a big welcome to all the employees at U.S. Bank to the IBM Lotus software family.

Written by turbotodd

September 15, 2009 at 3:28 pm

Leave a Reply

