Turbotodd

Ruminations on IT, the digital media, and some golf thrown in for good measure.

I Have A Technology Problem

with 3 comments

It’s true.

I have a technology problem.

In particular, a high technology problem.

I told you I would not be buying the first generation iPad. I gave you several reasons why I wouldn’t.

But late yesterday afternoon, it was like another entity took over my person, got in my car, and drove to the nearest Best Buy.

Once there, I walked directly to the Apple section of the store and started playing with an iPad.

Then, I started asking the sales guy a bunch of questions about synching it with my various Mac computers, the service plans, etc.

Before you know it, I was into a full on bender, waltzing through the iPad peripherals section as if I didn’t have a care in the world. I played with the wireless keyboard, the new iPad dock, some carrying cases.

This was gonna be bad.

Then, ready to pull out my Best Buy card, I discovered that they had no iPads in stock.

You’re kidding me, right? I’m like tech sleepwalking here. I’m like coming straight here, a man possessed, ready to buy, and you’re telling me you don’t have any iPads in stock!!??

The fourteen-year old, pimply sales dude told me to hold on, he had one more idea: He called back to the stockroom.

It was my lucky day. My technology addiction would be sated.

There was a single 64GB WiFi iPad that had been returned.

One.

As in uno.

Did I want it?

Are you kidding me? Does a thirsty man crawling through the Mojave want a bottle of cold Evian?!!

Better yet, I discovered I was going to get $50 off because somebody had returned it.

Why did they return it? I wondered to myself.

Who cares! It was the only iPad for sale for miles around, and they were over a week away from getting anymore in stock!

And I had one, in my hands!

Take that, Mac fanboys! I won!!

For good measure, I also bought a cool carrying case and the little iPad dock, paid my tab, and drove straight home.

Once back in my domicile, I turned on the iPad, glared at the gorgeous glossy iPad screen, and promptly wondered aloud to myself what the heck I was going to do with this thing.

Who cares what the heck I’m going to do with it!?

I finally have an iPad and it’s the coolest piece of technology I’ve ever bought!

Blogger’s Note: This blog post was written using my brand new iPad, so at least one utilitarian purpose has now been uncovered since it’s recent acquisition.  I will keep you posted as to other useful uses also discovered after the fact.

Written by turbotodd

May 27, 2010 at 10:03 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. At&t just killed the unlimited data plan. This is a iPad/iPhone killer for me. Overcharging for network bandwidth has got to be the number one inhibitor for using these types of devices effectively. Imagine having to download ONE movie from iTunes (1.5gb in size min) and having to pay $14.99 for the movie and then having to pay $25 dollars to download that movie over a 3G network! And in doing so eat up almost all of your monthly allotment of bandwidth!
    If you use it just to blog then I guess no impact, but if you want to expand to a more converged device usage then life starts to suck.

    Shawn

    June 2, 2010 at 8:17 pm

  2. [...] I mentioned in the original post “I Have A Technology Problem,” I had no real need for an iPad.  For the record, I own three Mac computers (one iMac, a [...]

  3. [...] I mentioned in the original post "I Have a Technology Problem," I had no real need for an iPad.  For the record, I own three Mac computers (one iMac, a [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,352 other followers

